What? I’m only human!

Ok, I want to clarify the plan as it is now just to make sure that it makes sense to you (and to myself). 

I am attempting to go a year of eating as locally as possible, with no refined sugars or wheat (i.e. white sugar, white flour), no chemical preservatives, all plant derived ingredients in any “processed” foods that I eat, no factory farmed dairy or meat.   

I want to clarify what I say when I mean that I am avoiding processed foods.  I am avoiding conventional processed foods that include preservatives or refined sugars and flours.  Processed foods are not the issue.  Refined processed foods full of preservatives are the issue.  The word processed has a bad reputation, but you have to eat a certain amount of processed foods in order to have grains in your diet.  Technically, the act of harvesting and cleaning the wheat makes it processed.  You follow my point.

I am also ok with foods like So Delicious coconut milk yogurt because it is naturally sweetened and comes from a natural non-dairy source.  Tofu is processed, and I will still eat it.  Rice or soy milk is processed, and yet they are still naturally derived non-dairy foods.  You follow.

If I have a moment of weakness and fall off the wagon, I will still try to stick to my rules about natural foods.  I refuse to set impossible boundaries on myself because I know that I will fail if I do that.  If I find myself in a situation where I MUST have chocolate, I have found a vegan chocolate bar that is sweetened with turbinado sugar and no preservatives.  I have discovered that Newman Os are vegan (and yummy).  You follow my logic here.  No one is perfect, and ladies, I think you’ll all agree that there are just some days of the month where you MUST eat junk food.  If I am having that urge to stray, I want to stray within set boundaries for myself.  I think that’s fair.

I can pretty much guarantee that at some point I will mess up.  Like I said, I’m a normal person, and no one that I know can eat perfectly for an entire year. 

I also wanted to add that at Christmas (or maybe Thanksgiving) I am thinking of conducting an experiment.  I would like to see how I feel eating regular Southern food for one meal after half a year of eating healthful food.  I may not try it because simply seeing those foods may gross me out at that point, but I am curious as to what will happen if I do it.  We shall see.  If not, it will be Tofurkey roast for the Wildeboers, as it has been for the last two years anyway!

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What? I’m only human!

  1. Christie says:

    My favorite brand of cereal is Mom’s Best. They make all the “same” types of cereals you would normally get–raisin bran, sweetened shredded wheat, honey Os, plain Os, even a marshmallow-containing cereal–but with no unpronounceableweirdtastingHFCS ginormouslistof ingredients. Typical ingredient list is wheat flour, sugar, evaporated cane juice, and maybe a few other things depending on the type of cereal you buy. And the best part is they are priced comparable to off-brand as opposed to brand-name or the pricier Mr. Uncle’s Nature’s Organic Name Brand stuff.

    • I found Mom’s Best rolled quick oatmeal for a dollar and a half at Kroger! The ingredients were: 100% rolled oats. I was very excited. The individual packets had HUGE ingredient lists. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  2. Allison says:

    Loving your blog! 🙂 I like the So Delicious Coconut ice cream in dark chocolate as well. Lower in fat/cals/sugar than regular, and has a more intense/satisfying flavor. Plus, it has fiber! It’s a nice treat every once in a while. Also, today I saw this new study and thought it was in line with what you’re doing so I thought I’d share: All calories are not equal: you burn fewer after eating processed foods vs. whole foods.
    http://www.foodandnutritionresearch.net/index.php/fnr/article/view/5144/5753

    • Interesting research article. I like cold hard facts. 🙂 I may have to try that dark chocolate ice cream stuff sometime. I think the hormones may be winning the battle with me this week. I had a little of the regular soy So Delicious peanut butter and chocolate. By a little, I mean only about a half a cup, but it hit the spot. It’s funny how my appetite is already changing. It’s a mindset difference. I don’t need the whole pint of ice cream at one time. 🙂

  3. Megan Alba says:

    Jen, I love that you mention the products you’re using. I didn’t know Newman O’s are vegan. Must get some NOW.

Leave a Reply

