Why yes, My Mother Is Cooking 40lbs of Hamburger Meat in my Kitchen. Why Do You Ask?

I had to run an errand today, and when I returned home, I walked in and saw my mother frying up pound upon pound of the 40 lbs of hamburger meat on my stove.  So, I got side by side with her to make our dinner tonight, Ginger Lime Tofu Stir Fry over brown rice, and it made me laugh.  Just looking over and the chunks of ground beef floating in gobs of grease next to my nice green dinner made me really happy to be eating this way! 

Anyway, the dinner I made tonight was FANFLIPPINGTASTIC!  Seriously, it’s my favorite thing I’ve made so far.  It had three components:  the tofu, the veggies, and the brown rice.  Matt and I ate all three, but mom only wanted veggies (her tummy has been upset today).  So, here Matt and I are sitting down and eating our delicious veggie filled dinner, and in walks Mom with her veggies… and some chunks of the hamburger meat she made for the dinner.  She said it was to add flavor, and then she threw in the bit about how it was the organic stuff.  Ah, the best laid plans.

Anyway, here is the recipe.  I just threw it together on a whim to keep some veggies from going bad:

Ginger Lime Tofu Stir Fry over Rice

Veggies:

Broccoli slaw mix

Handful of spinach, chopped coarsely

Green onions, chopped

Handful of mushrooms, chopped coarsely

One bunch of asparagus, cut the tough part off at the bottom, then cut into thirds

And I didn’t use this before, but I will next time, a handful of raw cashews. 

Vegetable broth

Dash of soy sauce

The juice of one lime

Tofu:

Tofu, finely cubed (1/2 a block of extra firm)

Nutritional yeast

Olive oil

Soy sauce (to taste)

Fresh grated ginger

Fresh garlic

Ok, for the tofu, I heated up the olive oil and made an infusion (fancy!) by putting in the garlic and ginger and cooking them until the flavors permeated the oil.  Then I threw in the tofu and browned it up.  It will fall apart a teeny bit, but that’s ok.  Towards the end, I added some soy sauce and let that cook off.  Then I sprinkled it all in nutritional yeast so that it coated it making a type of breading.

For the veggies, I poured some veggie broth into the pan (after I took out the tofu) and added a few dashes of soy sauce and the lime juice.  Then I put in all the veggies and covered the pan with a lid and let them steam until they got tender.  If I make it again, I’ll add cashews right at the end. 

After all that, I put down about a three quarters of a cup of brown rice and sort of flattened it out.  Then I layered the veggies over that with the tofu on top.

 

I’m telling you, if you’re a single lady, you might get a marriage proposal for this one.  It is amazing!  I may crave this for days, and I may end up making it again soon! 

As for the collards and black eyed peas, they ended up pretty tasty.  I found black eyed peas on sale for .99 cents for the already shelled kind, so we ate up.  Gosh, it was delicious… except for the cornbread.  That stuff was flatter than Kate Hudson in a slip dress.  I prefer my cornbread more like Christina Hendricks in a corset.  I made it by the recipe on the package, rather standard stuff, but with whole wheat flour and no egg.  I read somewhere later that you should add cider vinegar to get it to fluff up.  We’ll see about that.  Matt liked it alright, but he’d eat anything I cooked I think.  Thank God for a non-picky husband!

For the black eyed peas, all I did was add some liquid smoke, a little Worcestershire sauce, a random assortment of questionably talented musicians, and a dash of cider vinegar (see, I had it out already and everything.  Well I feel dumb now).  I served it with some of the hot sauce that is made from putting vinegar over hot peppers.  They turned out pretty good.  I should branch out some in my seasonings, but I didn’t have a recipe, and I’ve never made them before. 

I want to try some stuff with a Mexican flare, but I’m not sure how to do that without dairy… hmmm…  I’ll happily take ideas!  I need to try some Italian stuff, too.  I’m thinking some pasta primavera!  Now I’m off to read some Donald Miller.  If you haven’t read his stuff, you should.  He is very insightful, funny, and thought provoking.

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why yes, My Mother Is Cooking 40lbs of Hamburger Meat in my Kitchen. Why Do You Ask?

  1. Megan Alba says:

    There is a restaurant here that serves an avocado taco. It’s just avocado (they fry it, but it’d be just as good grilled or raw), field greens, tomatos, and salsa verde. YUMMY.

  2. Ann says:

    Your dinner looks good. At this point I don’t think I could even stomach the smell of the cooking beef.

Leave a Reply

