Over the weekend…

I’m admitting it right here, right now.  I don’t really like Ezekiel bread tortillas.  There, I said it.  I went in search of a pack of whole grain tortillas for my veggie fajitas the other night, and every pack I saw had a nine mile long list of ingredients that were heavily weighted with preservatives.  The only exception in the store was Ezekiel tortillas.  They were overpriced (about two bucks more for half as many), and they didn’t taste as good and weren’t as soft.  This is just not feasible on a budget.  If anyone has any suggestions, let me know!  I can’t live without fajitas, and I’d hate to have to make an exception for this.  I will if I have to, though.  End rant. 

About those fajitas… they were not my shining moment of culinary excellence.  The veggie part was good, the organic refried beans I bought were alright, and I didn’t even mind the fake sour cream.  The guacamole, however, was less than delicious.  It looked like barf and tasted awful.  Next time, I vow to use a recipe.  Ugh.  It takes a lot of skill to mess up something as perfect and delicious as avacados, but believe me, I found a way.  I am a master.  Oh, and Matt helped.

 

Now, on to my Friday experience.  Matt and I went with our friends, Josh, Tiffany, and their little son Noah, to the farmer’s market on the square in Gainesville.  To my surprise, I found out that most of the produce there was grown without pesticides, and the prices were significantly cheaper than organic produce at the grocery store.  For our twenty bucks, we got a pound of japanese eggplant, four huge heirloom tomatoes, two large zucchini squash, a pound of blackberries, four bell peppers, and two ginormous potatoes (enough for two meals, easily).  All of them were grown organically! 

I also found local free range eggs for three bucks a dozen.  Not too bad.  I skipped them because I don’t really need eggs.  I rarely eat them anyway, and I don’t to much baking.  I’m thinking about making some banana muffins and zucchini bread this week, though.  Veganbaking.net has a lot of great recipes.  We’ll see. 

I also found some whole grain cereal and almond milk on sale at Kroger.  I bought some apples, bananas, oranges, and strawberries.  I also bought some organic blue corn tortilla chips with flaxseeds and some organic black bean and corn salsa.  I spent around twenty bucks for all of that.

This week, I went shopping at the farmers’ market with a menu in mind.  This helped immensely.  I will be doing that from now on.  I also bought a magnetic whiteboard weekly calendar for the fridge so that I could write out the menus and also remind myself of which household chores need to be completed daily.  I need a way to streamline life a little, and that seems to work for some people. 

As for the health and weight loss side of things, I have lost five pounds in one week!  Amazing.  I could have lost more, but I didn’t drink as much water as I should have.  I’m so excited!  I didn’t even feel like I was trying!  Matt has even lost a few pounds.  Imagine what I could do if I started going back to the gym.  That is next on the agenda.  I will keep you guys posted.

Monday I went to the public library to find some vegan cookbooks and bread making cookbooks.  I got a little ambitious…

I did find one called The Garden of Vegan.  It has some great tips and awesome recipes.  Also, the girl on the cover looks a lot like my friend Anna. Scarily so.  I did a double take when I saw her.  I can’t wait to try some of the recipes next week!  I will have to stick to my menu this week, though, since I already bought all the food.  I like the way that this makes me have to plan out my meals and forces me to stick to the plan.  Even so, I don’t feel trapped because I am calling the shots on what we eat and when.  I like that. 

Anyway, I’m about to head out to the old stomping grounds at Emmanuel College.  We’re visiting a student of ours and taking another student to visit the school because she’s attending in the fall.  She’s a faithful reader, too!  Shout out to Dalton and Sam.  Anyway, afterward, we are going to The Grit.  I can’t wait!  So excited!  I’m like a little doggie who runs in a circle and pees on the floor, minus the peeing part.  Woo! 

I would like to point out that my son, Miles, also loves eating healthy food.  Here he is enjoying some organic sweet potatoes.  Nom Nom.

 

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Over the weekend…

  1. Mel Fowler says:

    I have a pretty sweet guac recipe that’s super easy! Nothing is measured though so just add as much or as little as you want for your preference. You will need avacados, green onions, tomatoes, garlic salt(or fresh garlic and regular salt if you like) and lime juice

    The basics:
    squish avacados and add lime juice. Cut up tomatoes and greens onions. Add these plus garlic salt to taste and perfecto… Fool proof quac!! 🙂

  2. I have to say that Lucas and I have found that we really enjoy buying green leaf lettuce and using it as the wrap to our fajitas or tacos. It’s a great alternative if you can’t find a decent high-fiber wrap. I usually, however, get the whole grain lasagna noodles and make a fajita casserole. You’re able to fit more veggies into the meal that way because you’re not concerning yourself with crazy things like how much portabello can actually fit in those tortillas.

    Adorable pic of Miles, BTW.

    • That is a wonderful idea! Kind of a Mexican/Asian fusion. Will you send me your recipe for the lasagne? I found some AHmazing vegan cheese this week, and I’m dying to use it!

      Oh, and thanks about Miles. He continues to melt my heart daily. 🙂

  3. Crystal says:

    you rock that ratatouille recipe. Isn’t it delicious? We ate it twice when mom and dad were visiting.

  4. Christie says:

    A couple comments/questions:
    1) What’s in the “fake sour cream”? I know our local stores sell store-brand organic yogurt, although I’m not sure if it’s perfectly cruelty-free.
    2) I would suggest trying your hand at making your own tortillas; however, I don’t know how you would do this properly without some form of animal fat.

    I am blessed that my Texas home is just minutes from a Sprouts Farmers Market, so I can buy my omega-3 free range eggs as well as produce and lowfat dairy and dairy-like products at great prices. They also try to source locally when possible.

  5. Jessica says:

    You two look healthy. 🙂

  6. The sour cream is from Tofutti. They make it from soy. It wasn’t that different, honestly. I didn’t mind it on the fajitas. I’d probably also employ it for use in borshch. Mmmm. Can’t wait for winter! I’ve kind of enjoyed going dairy free. My sinuses are actually clearer and I don’t feel tired all the time. I think it was a good call for me.

    I’ve thought about making tortillas, but Matt pointed out that since we’re trying to make this project accessible to normal folks, that’s not necessarily something that most people have time to do if it’s a lengthy process. I’m going to look into it. I have whole wheat flour. Can’t be that hard, right? 🙂

    Good for you about trying to source locally. I hope this thinking becomes a lifestyle for a lot of people. I’m worried that it’s more of a hipster trend. 😦 I know that ethical folks like yourself would tend to internalize it more, since you’re not one for worrying terribly much that you’re perceived as cool. That’s what makes you cool, incidentally. 🙂

  7. Jennifer says:

    I just discovered your blog and plan to follow it. I’m looking forward to reading about your adventure! Like you, we have been changing the way we eat, although not quite as radically… we’re taking baby steps, I guess. We avoid factory-farmed meat and milk; those were our first priorities. We do buy some organic veggies and other products when feasible, but not everything… but some is better than none! And we still eat out or at other people’s houses occasionally and don’t worry about it.

    I’m pleased to see a blog about healthy eating that takes money into consideration. I used to think that the goal in grocery shopping was to spend as little as possible; anything else was irresponsible. It was almost like a game to see how little I could feed our family for. Now I realize that the responsible thing to do is to spend more sometimes so you can eat healthily and ethically. Also, the cheap food costs just as much as the responsible food, it just costs someone else — the animals who suffer, the people who have to clean up the environment, the underpaid workers, etc.

    You probably know this, given the amount of researching you’ve done on vegan recipes, but you can substitute flaxseed for eggs when baking things like breads and muffins. One tablespoon of ground flaxseed plus three tablespoons of water (mix it up and let it gel a little bit) equals one egg. I’ve been doing this for a while now and things turn out great! And, as a bonus, a tablespoon of flaxseed actually costs less than an egg.

  8. Elsie says:

    Try Spelt tortillas!!!!!!! Yummmmmo! 🙂 I like them more than flour tortillas (not as gummy in your mouth) yet they’re not grainy and hard to eat like the ezekiel stuff is (which I’m not very fond of myself). Next time you’re in Athens, go to Earth Fare. They have many healthy, yummy alternatives. I tried the whole wheat ones too, and they were great as well!!

  9. Amanda Kauf says:

    Congrats on the weight loss! And I love the pic of Miles. Going to try making your ratatouille recipe next week!

  10. Heather :) says:

    Hey there 🙂

    I make my own whole wheat tortillas. They don’t take much more time to make than baking your own bread. I usually make about 36 at a time and freeze them. I just buy tortilla mix and add about 1/4 cup of wheat flour to it. If you’re wanting the fiber thing I’m sure you can substitute some benefiber into them as well.

    Love the blog and look forward to reading it, even if I do get jealous everytime you talk about The Grit.

    ~H

  11. Jessica says:

    You might just want to make your own whole grain tortillas. They are pretty easy.

Leave a Reply

