Sorry, I did not forget about you guys!

It has been a rather hectic week.  I’ve been cleaning the nooks and crannies of my house to get everything organized and ready before school begins next week.  If I don’t do it now, it won’t happen!  For those of you who might not know, I am a middle school special education language arts teacher.  I’ll only be teaching half-time this year, which is awesome, because I will get extra time with the kiddo and extra time for all this newfound domesticity. 

The food I’ve made this week has been pretty good.  I have not yet gotten to make my curried vegetables, but I will do that on Saturday.  Tomorrow night, I am making roasted balsamic veggies for my mom for her birthday as well as a fresh strawberry and blueberry balsamic pie that I’m basically creating myself.  We’ll see how it turns out.  I’m hopeful.  I want to try to use agave nectar instead of sugar and vegan butter instead of regular for my pastry.  Not quite sure how to manage an eggless eggwash, though.  I’ll have to google that!  I’ll post results of the dishes and dessert as soon as I serve them!

I am working on some posts with some depth to them.  I am hopeful that you all will enjoy the spiritual side of the journey as well as the physical side. I’m working on some posts about exercising self-discipline and its connection to the fruits of the spirit, and I am working on one about living a better story, and some reader challenges.  Stay tuned! 

I didn’t drop much weight last week (2 lbs), but that is a healthy amount, and any amount is a good one!  I’m going to start dragging my sorry butt out of bed early so that I can work out before school.  Now that I don’t go in until 9:30, I can go and take advantage of the free childcare!  Miles loves to socialize, too.  I can’t believe my little man will be six months old in a week.  His little life so far has flown by, and I’m trying not to blink too much and miss any of it!

Anyway, that’s about as much as I have to say today, but I promise you some good stuff during the weekend!  I am working on getting some swag designed as well as flyers and business cards.  Let me know if any of you would be interested!  I may even try to get a street team together and see if I can get some speaking engagements at churches and community centers!  Thank you guys for following me on this, and I appreciate all the support and ideas that you’ve provided so far.  Some of you started this journey long before I did, and I admire you.  Don’t forget to tell your friends and Facebook folks about the site and the fan page!  I want to spread the word that normal people can take charge of their lives and do what’s good for their bodies and souls!

I leave you with a little yum yum for your tum tum:

Very Berry smoothie

Put a handful of sliced, frozen strawberries and a smaller handful of frozen blueberries into a glass.  Cover with faux milk (MUST be faux or it will curdle with the other ingredients).  I used Almond milk. Mmm.  You could sub OJ for the milk if you didn’t want it creamy.  Add in a squeeze of agave nectar and the juice of one small lime.  Blend.  Enjoy.  (I used my brand new Cuisinart hand blender that I got as a baby present for making babyfood).

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sorry, I did not forget about you guys!

  1. Sarah says:

    I just came across your blog and I love it! For health reasons, I can’t completely give up dairy and meat, but I am looking into going local and organic.

    I went to college in Athens and am attempting to cook the Golden Bowl from the Grit. Oh, how I miss Brunch at the Grit!

    I just had my second kidney transplant and am hoping that a veggie filled natural diet will help this kidney stay with me the rest of my life. So, thanks for making this blog and keep it up. I am going to forward the link to my friend who would be interested too.

Leave a Reply

