Soul food kind of lends itself to whole food, eh?

Ok, I suck and I forgot to post yesterday.  Anyway, today was a win for health in general!  Not only did I get my parents to both join my gym, but I also signed up for Gainesville’s biggest loser!  My gym offers it as a competition for anyone who needs to lose at least 50 lbs.  It is 89 bucks, and it lasts for 14 weeks.  Included in that is a full health survey, body composition analysis, a tee-shirt, and (get this!) a personal trainer and nutrition counseling!  Three days a week workout committment and food journaling are the client contribution.  Yeah, that is right up my alley.  I’ve already made the biggest and most difficult change, which is breaking my junk food addiction.  We’ll see!

Anyway, tonight’s meal made me excessively happy.  I made black-eyed pea cakes and 2(mustard) greens (I’ll explain that later).  When you have a meat and dairy free diet, you don’t get much fat, so you can afford to deep fry something very, very infrequently. It basically rocked, and made me laugh because I said “croquettes” and “roux,” and Matt, hating the French because he is a red-blooded American, made me call it a “freedom patties” and “freedom gravy.”  Then he started singing “The Star Spangled Banner” by clucking it like a chicken.  When my mom yelled at him from the adjoining room, he said, “Stop being unpatriotic, Debbie! I’m praising the Lord.”  Yeah, we do a lot of laughing at La Casa Wilde. 

Anyway, we had an all American, Southern, soul food dinner tonight!  Next time, I will make some cornbread to go with it.  Yes, yes I will. 

Here are the recipes:

Black-Eyed Pea Patties (Adapted from Alicia Silverstone’s recipe in The Kind Diet)

3 cups of black-eyed peas

3 tablespoons of chopped cilantro

1 teaspoon of sea salt

1/2 teaspoon of a non-salt organic seasoning mix

enough Ener-G egg replacer to equal two eggs

enough peanut oil to make about 1 inch or so in the bottom of a pan

Put the black-eyed peas into the food processor with the cilantro and seasonings.  Chop it up finely until blended but not mushy. Remove and mix in egg replacer. 

Heat oil in pan until it is hot enough to make the pea mixture bubble and rise to the top when put into the pan.  Form the pea mixture into small hush puppy sized balls.  Drop them carefully into the oil.  Cook about 4 minutes on each side or until they are browned.  Flip only once and not until brown or they’ll get too greasy.  Drain on a plate with paper towels underneath.  They are AMAZING.

2(mustard) Greens

1 bag of cleaned mustard greens (only because they were on sale for a dollar)

two “chicken” bullion cubes, dissolved

a little sea salt

Sauce:

equal parts organic brown deli mustard and honey (yeah, it’s not vegan, but it’s local.  Sue me)

Smoosh the greens into the bottom of a pot.  Smoosh hard.  Cover with water.  Add in the water with the dissolved cubes.  Boil until they are soft.  Mix the mustard and the honey.  Drain the greens and mix in with the mustard sauce.  See, 2(mustard) greens.  Get it?

Oh, and a plug for Spike Gourmet Seasoning.  It is yummy and on closeout at Kroger.

Anyway, eat up!  Yummy!

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

