All Hail Seitan, Ruler of Non-Meat Protein Sources…

Yeah, I ventured and made homemade seitan tonight.  If you’re not familiar, Seitan is a protein that has a very meaty texture and is made from wheat gluten.  It is sometimes called “Wheat Meat.”  It turned out to taste pretty delicious, even if I botched it up a bit.  I got the recipe from the Post Punk Kitchen forums.  Here is their version, I will share how I tweaked it.

The Recipe O’ Greatness:

Ingredients:
1.5 cups vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cumin
1-2 tsp pepper (I use 2 tsp)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (you can use 1/8 tsp if you like it less spicy)
1/8 tsp allspice (I didn’t use this)
2 tsp garlic powder (I despise garlic powder, so it was a nay as well)

3/4 cups water
4 tbsp tomato paste (I skipped adding this)
1 tbsp   (I used Braggs Liquid Aminos, same difference.  Both are a type of soy sauce)
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (I used safflower)
2 tbsp vegetarian Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 325°.

In a large mixing bowl mix dry ingredients.  Mix the rest of the ingredients (liquid ingredients) in a smaller mixing bowl.  Whisk well until mixed.

Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Mix well, then knead for a minute or two.. it doesn’t need long.

Form into a log (6-8″ long), wrap tightly in foil, twisting ends.  Bake for 90 minutes.  When done baking, unwrap and leave out to cool all the way.  Then wrap it foil or plastic and refrigerate.  Slice to use as desired.

It tastes alright.  I can’t wait to cook it into stuff tomorrow.  The quantity is very large, so it should last a while.

Ok, last night I made an amazing curry, and tonight I made a stir fry that will make your head spin.  Both of these are a result of having a “use everything in the fridge so it won’t go bad” week. 

Thai Coconut Curry

1 can light coconut milk

1 blob of chunky all natural peanut butter (about a third of a cup, maybe)

half a cup of “chicken” broth (I made mine with an organic vegan bullion)

about two tablespoons of curry paste (I used mild)

colorful peppers, coarsely chopped

1 onion, coarsely chopped

1 can garbanzo beans

1 bag frozen broccoli (mine was organic, but I suppose it doesn’t have to be)

a little olive oil

1/2 cup of “chicken broth”

veggies:  stirfry the onions and peppers in the oil until almost tender.  Add the broccoli and chickpeas and steam for as long as you want until they are the right texture for you. 

Sauce:  put the coconut milk and broth over medium high heat and blend in the peanut butter and curry paste until smooth.  Let it simmer until it thickens to about the consistency of yogurt. 

Pour over veggies, blend, and serve over brown rice or quinoa.  Nom. 

Yummy Sesame Stir Fry

1 chopped onion

colorful peppers, chunked

1 bag of frozen broccoli

toasted sesame oil

raw sesame seeds

juice of half a lime

soy sauce

1 block tofu, pressed and sliced into thin pieces

Ok, for the veggies, first I toasted half a handful of sesame seeds in the sesame oil until they browned, then I threw in the onions and peppers and stir fried them.  I added soy sauce to it as well.  Then I added the broccoli and about a half a cup of water and covered, allowing it to steam for about eight minutes.  When it was done, I mixed in the lime juice.  You could use more if you like. 

I browned the tofu over medium/high heat and added soy sauce and some Korean BBQ sauce that I had leftover in the fridge.  You could do teriyaki or just the soy.

I tossed all of it together when done and served over rice.  Super yummy! 

I am loving how creative I find myself being due to trying to use it all before it goes bad!  It’s challenging, but it’s really fun and rewarding.  I’ve lost 12 lbs now!  Hooray!  Some of my clothes fit again already! Woo!

Goodnight all.  Hug your children, spouse, loved ones, or pets and go snuggle in bed.

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

