A soul food evening at La Casa Wilde…

 

Tonight I was in the mood for some comfort food.  I had on hand some peppers, onions, kale, chickpeas, and the regular staples.  I decided to go for country fried chickpea patties, greens and wild rice with Grit Yeast Gravy

Country Fried Chickpea Patties

1 can organic chickpeas

1 tbsp cilantro, chopped

1/2 small red onion

1/2 red pepper

2 “eggs” (I used Ener G replacer

coriander

smoked paprika

cumin

Safflower oil

I put the veggies, cilantro, and beans into the food processor and basically minced them (cut small, but don’t turn into paste). Then I put in as much of the spices as I wanted (based on smell and taste) and mixed in the egg replacer.   Form them into country fried steak sized patties.  Then you cook them in about  a half-inch to an inch of safflower oil.  You have to stay on the heat.  You want the oil to sizzle if you drop in a dab of the mix.  It should float immediately.  If is starts smoking, turn it down.  Place the patties in and cook for three to four minutes on each side, judging by the color that shows around the edges.  Drain on a plate with paper towels. 

*Addendum:  So yeah, when I cooked them, they fell to pieces.  It became fried crumble.  Tasted amazing, though!

 Serve with Grit Yeast Gravy and wild rice.

I’ve posted my recipe for Kale on here before, and the gravy is really more of an adaptation than an exact recipe.  Here is how I do it.

Gravy

Oil of your choice, maybe two tablespoons

1/3 ish cup of whole wheat flour

1/3 ish  cup of nutritional yeast

splash of soy sauce

splash of Worcestershire sauce

small splash of liquid smoke

1/4 to 1/3 cup plain almond milk

1-2 cups of water, depending on thickness

Heat oil over medium high heat until it sizzles when you drop in flour.  Add in flour and nutritional yeast slowly, adjust oil if you need it to thin out a bit.  Mix this with a whisk over the heat for about four minutes.  If you leave it, it will burn, so be careful!  Slowly add the milk and whisk it in to avoid lumps. Add water immediately.  Stir it in rather slowly to avoid lumps.  Add more water if too thick or let it cook a while longer while whisking if it’s too thin.  Once the water is in, add the splashes of other stuff.   Gravy is an art.  You will likely mess up, and it’s ok!

Since I started doing this, I have to say that I feel wonderful.  The weight isn’t just falling off like I expected, but it’s going slowly but surely.  That’s the best way anyway.  I am about to get started with my 14 week intensive workout program.  I’m very excited about that.  I am hopeful that I will get back to my former state of health, whether or not I get back to my former size or not.  That’s really what’s important anyway, right?  The thing I like so much about this change is that unlike my time with Weight Watchers or the Curves diet, this isn’t about getting thinner or being prettier.  Those things are probably going to happen anyway because of getting generally healthier.  This is about looking at myself as a whole person.  Not just health, not just weight, but also incorporating my issues with addiction to food, lack of self-discipline, and problems I’ve had with feeling good about myself in the past.  The funny part of all this is that I’ve always beaten myself up because of my weight, and now because I’m tackling this head on, I feel so strong and determined that the weight isn’t an issue.  I’m feeling good about myself because I’m sticking to this and changing myself.  Forget the looks.  This is about something deeper.  This is about self-control and allowing that particular fruit to show itself in my life more.

Self-control is coming more easily this time than in the past because this time is not about weight loss.  It’s about ethics.  When you base your actions on your internal beliefs, it’s a lot harder to fall off the wagon.  The failure would be less about your appetite and more about a failure to follow your beliefs.  If I am doing what I believe in, I’m less likely to give it up for something so silly as ice cream or a steak. 

Pretty cool, huh?

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A soul food evening at La Casa Wilde…

  1. Amanda Kauf says:

    Hey, I just got around to reading this today, and you really struck a spark in me. As you know, I went straight vegan – I mean hard core vegan – earlier this year for both health and ethical reasons. Slowly, I’ve been sliding back to just vegetarian, and even pescatarian. *blush* I found myself not being able to say no to the Hershey’s chocolates, the brownies that someone brings to a get-together, the coffee creamer that just tastes so yummy…and it all adds up. It’s so much easier to say yes to those things, and they taste so good on my tongue. I admit: I have an addiction to food. It comforts me when nothing or no one else can. It’s something that I struggle with, and then I struggle to get my pants over my hips. And then I struggle with myself because of the guilt. I hate this battle.

    But you’ve reminded me of why I made this change to start with. Because I know the industry is wrong. I know the companies are lying to us and poisoning us with so many additives in food (I seriously had to spend time in the applesauce aisle to find one for the kids that did NOT have HFCS, ugh). I know that it’s bad for my body, the environment, and the animals. I do not need to eat those things, and I shouldn’t do it. I should set a better example for my children. It’s not easy explaining to Hunter why I won’t buy the “good” cereal or the Pop Tarts anymore when she is used to having them for so long. I don’t want to have to do that with Kaiden. I want him to grow up without knowing about the nasty stuff.

    So…thank you for this post. Thanks for this whole blog. It’s a lot easier when I know that I’m not the only one doing this, and not the only one who feels this way. Thanks. 🙂

  2. So I totally got teary when I read this. This right here is the real reason I decided to start this blog. I’m so glad to be a part of your journey! We all need encouragement. Just reading your comment has helped to make me want to be even more committed. 🙂 Thanks for your honesty! It’s awesome, isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

