Well, I’m nothing if not pragmatic…

So sorry for the delay.  We have a sick little boy at the house.  This is his first illness, and he is seven months old.  So far, so good.  He is miserable, but it’s nothing serious.  Just a cold and ear infection

Anyway, I started The Biggest Loser program at my gym this week.  The workouts are a minimum of three times per week with a trainer, and they monitor your macronutrients ( fat, carbs, protein, calories) and make sure that they are adequate for the intensity of the program.  Apparently if you don’t eat enough protein when you work out, you can harm your body.

That said, my protein intake on a vegan diet was MORE than enough for a person who isn’t doing intense training, just regular exercise.  With the new regiment, however, I needed more protein with fewer carbs.  This is hard on a vegan diet because even the protein is laden with carbs.  She has me adding in eggs and fish.  Now before you get all judgmental on me about changing, you should know that the eggs are cage free and organic, and that the fish is as minimal as they will allow (and US based only).  This will be happening for the next 14 weeks during the program, and then I will be readjusting my eating somewhat.  This does not change my desire to try to buy local produce and eat ethically.

So far, I’ve lost three pounds since I started.  I had hit a wall anyway, so this is good.  I don’t feel bad when I eat the egg and fish protein, just when I have had dairy.  I am still avoiding dairy like the plague for various ethical reasons as well as simply because it makes me feel like crapola when I eat it.  Boo dairy!

So, pragmatism and a desire to not hurt myself win out over ideology, and that’s ok.  It’s all about common sense, right?

Anyway, I will give you a yummy nom nom recipe for your repertoire:

Black Bean and Mango Salad

2 cups of short grain brown rice

1 mango, cubed

2 cans black beans

a few tablespoons of cilantro, chopped

about a cup of grape tomatoes, halved

A red onion, diced

The juice of two limes

about a teaspoon or more of ground cumin

I think it would be good with some avocado in it, too, but I didn’t do that

Wait until the rice is cool, then toss it all in a bowl and mix.  OH MY GOSH.  It’s so super duper good.  Srsly. 🙂

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Well, I’m nothing if not pragmatic…

  1. Caroline says:

    Oh wow. I’m going to have to make that…I am obsessed with mango. I’ll try it with the avocado and report back!

  2. Caroline says:

    Also, be very careful about eating a lot of soy and gluten, too. Soy can really mess up young women’s hormones and gluten can cause, for lack of better terms a sort of “brick in the belly” situation. I’m slowly learning this stuff myself!

  3. Heath says:

    So I’m not trying to be a jerk here, and I couldn’t care less about what you eat.

    But I find an issue with suggesting that you can’t be pragmatic and vegan. I’ve been a vegan for nine years, and i’ve worked out in some fashion (running, biking, weights, whatever) for the better part of those nine years.

    So it’s cool, if you don’t wanna be vegan don’t be vegan. But there is no need for a grand proclamation about what you can and and can’t do on a vegan diet. Brendan Brazier seems to get along pretty well himself.

    If I’m reading things wrong and interpreting things incorrectly, I apologize. No one should be vegan if they don’t want to, and I’m anything but dogmatic. I am, however, pragmatic as fuck.

    • Heath,
      I don’t take it as being a jerk. I think I was speaking the gym’s opinion as though it were truth. I didn’t actually mean it that way, just conveying their thoughts on the subject. Part of being in the program (which I paid for, so I don’t want to get booted), is following their rules. I just didn’t want anyone to think that I’d changed my goal for the blog in this fourteen week time period. I am mainly trying to stick to my local organic whole food rules anyway. I’d been vegan by default to save money, not as much because I wanted off animal products. I’m going to up my grocery bill by springing for the organic free range eggs, but it’s only temporary. Sorry for the misunderstanding! I totally think you can do vegan and train (I’ve read a lot about Brendan Brazier recently), but apparently my gym does not. Since I don’t really have an ethical objection to well raised eggs, I’m willing to go with them on that and fudge on my budget a little.

      On a related note, I’ve decided that I’m not interested in the fish eating anyway. Kind of grosses me out at this point (and the over fishing issue bothers me), so I guess I’m back to meatless altogether. I do find that labels don’t matter much to me, but the ethics behind my decisions do. I was only mentioning it to make sure that my readers know that I haven’t traded them in during this decision. I didn’t want to be misunderstood and considered inconsistent. It’s all a learning process for me at this point anyway.
      Didn’t mean to imply anything negative about vegans, promise! (I’ll probably be rejoining your ranks after this program is over anyway. :))

      Do you have any ideas for lower carb protein sources? I’m already drinking a shake to boost my numbers. I don’t want to lean on stuff that isn’t “real” food, though, and I’d have to eat WAY too many calories, carbs, and fat to get it all from nuts, tofu, beans, or tempeh. I’m open to suggestions! I’m willing to lose the eggs (and the $4 a dozen for them!) if I can find a replacement!

  4. Piglet says:

    YIKES!!! $4.00 for eggs! There’s not someone in your town who got a little exuberant and puchased a few too many chickens? I bought eggs up in Greeley from just such a woman who has chickens in her backyard and they are ethically raised etc for $1.00 a week. These people must exist around you?

    ~H

Leave a Reply

