I’m as Mad as Hell, and I’m Not Gonna Take this Anymore

The title is a little dramatic, but I certainly channeled Howard Beale earlier this week in an interaction with my bank.  I don’t care if I name names or not, because I have no reason not to.  I pay for my own webspace, and I don’t owe them anything.  Regions, you can sit on it and rotate.  Nationstar, you can do something to yourself that I’m far too much of a lady to say on the internets.

I am not normal when it comes to money.  My husband and I like Dave Ramsey.  We use cash in an envelope system to keep from overspending.  We live on a tight budget because we would like to one day not owe anyone anything.

That said, I don’t do direct deposit.  I go in and cash my check.  Been doing it for a few years now at the Thompson Bridge Regions.  They’re good people.  I’ve even done it a few times at the Dawsonville Highway branch.

Monday, the Dawsonville Highway branch caused Regions to lose a customer.

I went in with my check which, while not giant, is certainly not small.  I asked to cash the check.  I was told that I could not.

Here is the play by play:

Teller:  I’m sorry, ma’am, we can’t cash this check.

Me:  (wide eyed and confused)  Excuse me?

Teller:  You have to have at least as much money as the check is written for in the bank in order for us to cash it.

Me:  Excuse me?  I have an account.  That is my name right there on your screen.  I’ve been a customer here for seven years.  What in the world?

Teller:  It’s our policy.

Me:  You  have cashed it before.  My regular branch cashes it every month.  I’m not getting the reasoning.

Teller:  Perhaps they are more familiar with the check.

Me:  It’s from the school.  Where I work.  It’s a hundred years old.  It’s kind of an institution here in town.  What in the world?

Teller:  You could always go cash it at BB&T or I could charge you a fee to cash it.

Me:  A FEE?!  You charge me a fee to have an account.  You charge me all kinds of fees.  You want me to PAY to cash a check at MY bank?

Teller:  It’s our policy.

Other teller:  I could call the other branch and verify who you are.

Me:  MY NAME IS ON THE SCREEN.  I have an account.  I shouldn’t have to verify anything except the amount of money you give me when you cash my check.

Teller:  It’s our policy.

Me:  You don’t make the policy, so I’m going to be nice to you, but your bank sucks.  The whole bank sucks.  This is why I’m closing my account.  I don’t want to do business with people who won’t even cash a check for a customer.

Other Teller:  I really can make a phone call

Me:  (Walking out the door) No thanks.  I’m going to a credit union.  They will be happy to help me.  Have a wonderful day.  Your bank sucks.

Yeah, so that was an awesome “make me feel like white trash” moment.  I thought seriously about smoking a menthol and wearing some cut off jeans, but eh, that’s not healthy and cut offs look bad on most people.

Anyway, we are leaving that bank and moving our money somewhere local.  We had planned to anyway, but that was the final nail in the coffin.  Buh Bye Now.

I’ve been reading about the move your money project, and it seems pretty rad.  It’s a grassroots effort to remove the power from the huge banks and put it back into the communities.  It’s also about not standing for being treated the way that large corporations seem to feel entitled to treat their customers.

There is even a date that they have set aside as an official Move Your Money day.  It’s November 5th.  Guy Fawkes’ day seems appropriate for a subversive move en masse.

So we’re moving our money.  You should give it some thought, but only if you are dissatisfied with what is going on.  If it’s not bothering you, please, don’t let my righteous indignation bug you.

Anyway, I figure this is as good a time as any to give you a nice recipe for the day.  It’s based on whole foods, and it’s rather delicious.  Comfort food, for the win!

Old-Time Beef Stew

1 lb stew beef (they now sell grass fed, hormone free beef at Publix!)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 pint of the beer of your choice
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1   clove garlic, peeled
1 or 2   bay leaves
1   large onion, sliced
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
dash ground allspice or ground cloves
1/2 bag of baby carrots, chopped (they’re sweeter)
4   red potatoes, quartered
Brown meat in hot oil. Add beer (and a little water if you need to), Worcestershire sauce, garlic, bay leaves, onion, salt, sugar, pepper, paprika, and allspice. Cover and simmer 1 hour. Remove bay leaves and garlic clove. Add carrots and potatoes. Cover and cook 30 to 40 minutes longer. To thicken gravy, remove 2 cups hot liquid. Using a separate bowl, combine 1/4 cup water and cornstarch until smooth. Mix with hot liquid and return mixture to pot. Stir and cook until bubbly.

 

I will leave you with a video clip that reminds me of why I am doing what I’m doing.  It seems timely.

 

 

About wholefoodsoulfood

Wife, mother, teller-of stories, cooker of food, liver of life, teller of truth. Welcome to my corner of the internet. Make yourself at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

